You are here

Back to top

Out of My Mind (Large Print / Paperback)

Out of My Mind Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Spring 2010 Kids' Next List


“This is the touching story of a gifted child,trapped in a barely working body. Melody, age 11, struggles to communicate with a world of children and adults most of whom can't see beyond her physical limitations. A provocative change of pace for Sharon Draper.”
— Peter Moore, The Blue Marble, Fort Thomas, KY

Description


Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list

If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.--Denver Post

A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.--School Library Journal (starred review)

Unflinching and realistic.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Uplifting.This moving novel will makes activists of us all.--Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people-her teachers, her doctors, her classmates-dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it.somehow.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432863913
ISBN-10: 1432863916
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: March 13th, 2019
Language: English